(956) 727-0977 heritage@webbheritage.org

The Webb County Heritage Foundation is proud to announce the selection of Ike Epstein as President of the Republic of the Rio Grande for 2018-19 in recognition of his company’s 86 years of work in developing and advancing the construction industry in our community. He will be inaugurated as President of the Republic of the Rio Grande during the Webb County Heritage Foundation’s annual Founders’ Day Celebration on Saturday, May 19 at 12 noon at the Laredo Center for the Arts in downtown Laredo.
As every year, the new President names individuals to serve as cabinet members, representing the historical characters that participated in the original republic’s administration.
Those cabinet members are: Representing Francisco Vidaurri y Villaseñor, Vice-President and delegate for Coahuila – Clay Epstein; representing Antonio Canales, Commander-in-Chief of the Army – Carroll Summers, Jr.; representing Col. Antonio Zapata, Commander of the Cavalry – Mike Herrera; representing Manuel Nina, Quartermaster General – Douglas Alford; representing Juan Francisco Farias, Secretary – Jorge Vega; representing Juan Nepomuceno Molano, delegate for Tamaulipas – Andy Ramos; and representing Manuel María de Llano, delegate for Nuevo Leon – Blas Castañeda.
Past Presidents of the Republic of the Rio Grande have included: Congressman Henry Cuellar, Mr. Evan J. Quiros, Dr. Ray M. Keck, III, Ms. Judith G. Gutíerrez, Dr. José Roberto Juárez, Mrs. Norma Z. Benavides, Mr. Mercurio Martínez, Jr. Mrs. Elizabeth Foster, Mr. E.H. Corrigan, Mr. Sam Johnson, III, Mrs. Annabelle Uribe Hall, Mr. Renato Ramirez, Sr. María Luisa Vera and Sr. Rosemary Welsh, RSM, Shirley and Bob González, Betty and Oscar Moreno, Viviana Frank and Frank Rotnofsky, and Gary Jacobs.
For table reservations or more information on the Founders’ Day Celebration, please contact the Webb County Heritage Foundation at 956-727-0977.