(956) 727-0977 heritage@webbheritage.org

Christina Saucedo, Archives Manager with the Webb County Heritage Foundation, was recently named a “Diversity Scholar” by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The National Trust for Historic Preservation is the national historic preservation organization that works to save America’s historic places.

The NTHP sponsors the annual PastForward National Preservation Conference that brings together historic preservationists from all walks of life and all parts of the U.S. to share information, best practices, new technology, and build networks related to historic preservation.
After attending the 2014 PastForward Conference for the first time as a Diversity Scholar, Saucedo was offered another scholarship and invited to return in 2015.
“We are so proud of our Archives Manager Christina Saucedo, who has been selected by the National Trust to attend the conference two years in a row, and represent the preservation work going on in our community and in South Texas,” said Margarita Araiza, WCHF Executive Director.
The Diversity Scholarship Program (DSP) supports attendance of community leaders new to preservation and emerging preservation professionals to the annual PastForward National Preservation Conference. DSP participants receive financial assistance in the form of complimentary registration and lodging to attend PastForward. To date, over 2,100 individuals from diverse socio-economic, racial, ethnic, and cultural backgrounds have participated in the program and have helped enrich the overall preservation movement by contributing a wide range of perspectives at the conference and in the field.