(956) 727-0977 heritage@webbheritage.org

The Webb County Heritage Foundation is proud to announce the selection of Viviana and Frank Rotnofsky as co-Presidents of the Republic of the Rio Grande for 2016-17. Each year, the Heritage Foundation selects an individual who embodies outstanding commitment to historic preservation or heritage education to serve as President of the Republic of the Rio Grande. This year, the Foundation has selected two people to share this honor as co-Presidents. As a tribute to their work in preserving, protecting, and advocating for the region’s historic architecture, local architects Viviana and Frank Rotnofsky were selected. They will be inaugurated as co-Presidents of the Republic of the Rio Grande during the Webb County Heritage Foundation’s annual Founders’ Day Celebration on Saturday, May 14 at 12 noon at the Laredo Center for the Arts in downtown Laredo.
Past presidents have included: Congressman Henry Cuellar, Mr. Evan J. Quiros, Dr. Ray M. Keck, III, Ms. Judith G. Gutíerrez, Dr. José Roberto Juárez, Mrs. Norma Z. Benavides, Mr. Mercurio Martínez, Jr. Mrs. Elizabeth Foster, Mr. E.H. Corrigan, Mr. Sam Johnson, III, Mrs. Annabelle Uribe Hall, Mr. Renato Ramirez, Sr. María Luisa Vera and Sr. Rosemary Welsh, RSM, Shirley and Bob González, and the current co-Presidents, Betty and Oscar Moreno.
For table reservations or more information on the Founders’ Day Celebration, please contact the Webb County Heritage Foundation at 956-727-0977